Mrs. Sherwin's Music Room Musings

Thoughts and Information from the Music Room

Music! Music! Music!

September20

Hello Everyone!

I am writing to let everyone know about some big news here at PES!

MUSIC is now going to happen for each (1-6) student two times a week.

In grade 1 and 2 this month we are learning each other’s names.  We are also working on being ready for learning in music and what a good music student looks like.  We are singing different songs with actions and we do a wee bit o’ dancing too!

On Thursdays, Mr. Bowman joins us for music and it is awesome! Sometimes this crazy dog named “Frankie” will join our class too.  He talks about being a good student ready for learning.  It helps that he’s funny! (That can mean both Mr. Bowman and Frankie!)

The grade 3 – 6 classes are talking rhythm, a little theory about the value of notes.  This theory shows the students a very clear connection between Music and learning that they do in Math.  We talked about factor trees which is a grade 5 and 6 math outcome!

Looking forward, I am going to start a grade 5 and 6 recorder club.  We will meet on Thursdays this Fall.

As well, there is nothing that makes my skin become covered in ‘Gooseys’ (goosebumps) than our entire student population gathered together to sing a song.  The song in particular is ‘I Can Make a Difference’.  We sing it every year just before we head out for our annual Terry Fox run.  This song was written many moons ago by a former PES Music Teacher, Mrs. Linda Lauer.  Every year, we have joined together in song before our Terry Fox run.  Last summer, I had the privilege, of seeing the Terry Fox foundation exhibit at the Telus World of Science.  It was a tremendous and deeply moving experience.  I saw a quote as part of the display.  Terry was saying that he hoped that ‘cancer can be beaten’ by doing this enormous task.  Ponoka Elementary School has a very long standing history with the Terry Fox foundation being, very often, in the top 10 fundraisers in the province.

“I Can Make a Difference”

I can make a difference, I am little but I can.

I can make a difference, for my fellow man.

Just show me what to do, I will walk the walk with you.

Oh, cancer can be beaten it can start with one to two!

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar